The State Of (Corporate) Security

Zanidd

Hello Choombas

I was just wondering if you're experience concering security is similar to mine.

A bit of bg info first. I work as an independent security consultant/pentester and often times when trying to sell my service I get replies in the realms of:

• We don't need security
  • We can't afford security
  • Security concerns have been moved down in our backlog
  • We have cyber-security-assurance

Meanwhile, whenever I get hold of a new client their infrastructure and apps are mostly vulnerable and the "Security Hygiene" isn't there (passwords beeing reused, written on sticky notes etc..), yet they still see security as a nice-to-have and think "it wont happen to us".

Do your experiences align with mine? Or is that a local issue 🤣

i know similar companies. 

Problem is, they don't understand it will cost much more in case of a breach and no on is "to small".

and the point with the assurance is (at least in switzerland) i am sure they will add if not already in place audits that if you don't have a certain level of security they won't pay. -> like if you drive your car to fast and make an accident or drive drunken. then your car assurance will not pay at all.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Florian said:

i know similar companies. 

Problem is, they don't understand it will cost much more in case of a breach and no on is "to small".

and the point with the assurance is (at least in switzerland) i am sure they will add if not already in place audits that if you don't have a certain level of security they won't pay. -> like if you drive your car to fast and make an accident or drive drunken. then your car assurance will not pay at all.

AFAIK they already have such an audit-thing where you can get up to 10% off if you're ISO certified. But the problem I see is, the smaller the company the bigger the impact of an attack.

losing 50k may kill a small company, whereas losing 50k for Google is just another friday afternoon.