Trends in email threats (malware, phish, fraud, etc)

ChickenKing

Hey everyone! Wanted to start this thread to discuss some trends you've been observing in email threats recently. Pretty much anything that uses email as an attack vector. Malware attachments, malware hosting links, credential harvesters, bank fraud, MITMB, BEC, anything really!

For some background, I work as a security engineer, and my main job functions are detection engineering, malware analysis, and incident response. We have a very robust email detection program, incorporating hundreds of custom YARA rules, manual indicators, and a couple enterprise tools. As a result, we catch many many email threats on a daily basis.

As I'm sure you all have, we were recently hit by the recent wave of emotet. For some reason the TA used the same xls attachment across seemingly their entire several-thousand email campaign, which definitely made fingerprinting this wave easier. Of the 40+ emails we received, they were all blocked by an enterprise tool and never made delivery. See below for hash values
MD5: 2486374800299563ab8934122234242a | SHA256: ef2ce641a4e9f270eea626e8e4800b0b97b4a436c40e7af30aeb6f02566b809c

Back in August - September, I observed and handled several dozen emails over that time period related to a new wave of qakbot. They all involved a link -> pw protected zip -> iso -> lnk -> process injection -> c2. This has since slowed down but I'll include a couple hashes and c2 IPs for anyone interested. 
SHA256: f005f68a8d4d58c7c50341408ecc2963e97035abe7845a667de13fe040e8b280 | SHA256: 7a52a41edce28f3140864f05272761cf5b2a12e155bdb68b779e3144ad2aba06

IPv4: 176[.]177[.]136[.]35 | IPv4: 139[.]228[.]33[.]176

And of course, the credential harvesters are always coming in, multiple a week pretty consistently.

Curious what sorts of things you guys have seen!

Edited by ChickenKing
fixed an erroneously bolded item
  • Thanks 1