Fail2Ban Filters for Vulnerability scanners

Nao

Heya, I'm a full stack developer on a super small team (Literally me and another developer) and while debugging something I was looking through our apache logs and found a lot of requests scanning for vulnerabilities, either looking for credentials or admin panels, even IOT Malware. I was wondering if I should start adding common vulnerability scanning requests to a fail2ban filter or if there was a better way to handle that sort of stuff.

Hey!

Is there a specific reason you wanna filter them? If you want to filter all these garbage requests you would need something more powerful than fail2ban which would probably need more resources than just ignoring them. I would put my focus on stuff that actually impacts the security of your environment like brute force attacks and that sort of stuff.

2 minutes ago, Fry said:

Hey!

Is there a specific reason you wanna filter them? If you want to filter all these garbage requests you would need something more powerful than fail2ban which would probably need more resources than just ignoring them. I would put my focus on stuff that actually impacts the security of your environment like brute force attacks and that sort of stuff.

Feels like a good idea to block scanners and people attempting to exploit our web servers

Edited by Nao

Well, its just my opinion and i would love to hear from others about it but i don't think its really possible to block all of them (just look at the mess that is Microsoft's attempt to mitigate the latest unpatched Exchange vuln with a filter rule). But if you want to try it, you would need a WAF like ModSecurity, it can block attack patterns - but it needs a lot of fine tuning. And still you wouldn't block many of the things that you described. And again, i wouldn't try. But maybe there are other opinions on that 🙂